Sea Scouts, BSA has thrived since 1912 because of our dedicated volunteers. The Sea Scout Leadership Award was established to recognize those who have gone beyond and above for service to our program.

The following individuals have worked tirelessly to increase Sea Scout membership, start new Sea Scout Ships, and create opportunities for youth.


WR Sea Scout Leadership Award

Greg Rekart (Adult) – Greg has served with distinction as a WR New Ship Mentor, helping organize new Sea Scout Ships, supporting volunteers, and finding equipment for Sea Scout activities.

Tessa Ramsey (Youth) – Tessa has been an outstanding WR Boatswain, having dutifully organized marketing videos, written blog posts, and represented the best traditions of Sea Scouts.


WR Area Level Sea Scout Leadership Awards

WR Area 3

Skipper Tamara Sokolov of the Viking of San Francisco. Tamara has been one of the strongest forces behind the success of the Old Salts’ Regatta in ensuring quality competitive events are organized at the regatta. Skipper Sokolov runs an extremely successful Sea Scout Ship, that has multiple weekly meetings and was recognized as the BoatUS National Flagship in 2016.

Tamara also has been a dedicated leader in supporting Sea Scout activities and new Sea Scout Ships in WR Area 3.

WR Area 4

Skipper Jim Wehan of the Mariners of Dana Point. Jim is one of the most successful Sea Scout Skippers who has lived, having quality weekly activities and a crew of over 50 Sea Scouts. Jim has been a strong advocate in helping ensure communications in WR Area 4, helping start a new Ship in San Pedro, and providing opportunities for Sea Scouts from multiple Ships.

Christopher Shintani is the WR Boatswain’s Mate for Membership and on the Del Mar in Newport Beach. Chris has been an incredible BMS, helping start the new Ship 1992 at the Los Angeles Maritime Institute, organized photo shoots with Sea Scouts for national marketing material now in use, and brought Ships together in WR Area 4.