Central Region

The Great Midwest


Central Region Leadership

John Paprocki

Regional Commodore

Mike McCarthy

Regional Director

Rachael Washburn

Regional Boatswain

Contact Us

Central RegionWelcome to the Central Region Sea Scout website. As a representative of the 1,100 Sea Scouts and 750 Sea Scout leaders in the region, I hope you will find the information on this website useful to you and your ships .Our area and regional service committees are staffed and ready to assist you by providing necessary training, in making your programs and events the best they can be and, if you are not presently involved in Sea Scouting, to find more about our program and what it can do for your scouts.

Sea Scouts learn about useful skills, safety regulations and techniques to use in sailing, powerboating and paddlesport activities. But also, our Sea Scouts learn leadership skills as they all develop their programs and manage their own ships and service activities. We like to say it’s not like your little brothers scout troop.

If you have questions, feel free to contact one of our regional staff or area commodores whom are listed in this website. We would welcome you joining our fleet and the world of Sea Scouting.

Fair winds and following seas,

John Paprocki, Regional Commodore


The Central Region services sixty-six local BSA councils in the Great Midwest of the United States . The territory spanned by the Central Region includes council headquarter cities in thirteen states, including all of Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, Wisconsin, and parts of Indiana, Kentucky, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Virginia, and West Virginia. The region works to support and sustain these sixty-six councils as they build, support and sustain their programs. The Region is broken down into eight areas that help to deliver program and training resources that best serve the scouts and scouters in the area.

Today, there are 82 Ships serving 1,110 Sea Scouts and 761 Sea Scouters across the Region. Eight new Ships were formed in 2015, and we look forward to 2016.

The region is led by the Regional Key 3 composed of the Regional Commodore John Paprocki, Regional Boatswain Rachael Washburn, and Regional Staff Adviser Mike McCarthy, with the support of the Central Region Sea Scout Committee.

Executive Officer: Bill Hamilton (also Vice Commodore of Service)

Commodore Emeritus: Dr. Mac McNeal

Area 1 Commodore: Dr. George Battis

Area 2 Commodore: L. Wayne Hastings

Area 3 Commodore: Levering Reynolds

Area 4 Commodore: Robert Belliveau

Area 6 Commodore: David Campbell

Area 7 Commodore: Andrew Paprocki

Vice Commodore of Activities: Mark Hazelrigg

Vice Commodore of Boats & Gear: Chip Manning

Vice Commodore of Communications: Ron Blaisdell

Vice Commodore of Program: Tom Ross

Vice Commodore of Sales / Membership: Curt Ware

Vice Commodore of Ships Store: Ray Bartlett

Vice Commodore of Training: Jay Montgomery

Sailing & Regatta Chair (Interim): Wayne Hastings

Bay Jammer

July 20, 2018 to July 22, 2018All Day
Central Region / Regattas and Rendezvous / Regional Events / Youth Events and Opportunities

Bay Jammer is the nation’s oldest continuous Scouting event designed for older teens. Bay Jammer is open to Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Venture Scouts, Explorers, Sea Scouts, and Mariners between the ages of 14-20 years old. It is held each Summer on the beautiful waterfront of downtown Menominee, Michigan, at the Great Lakes Memorial Marina.

Now in its 70th consecutive year, Bay Jammer has played host to thousands of youth from all over the Midwest. Events have changed and evolved over time, but still include the essence of Scouting.

The Bay Jammer Program includes water, land, and other competition and Scout Spirit Building events.


Seabadge SB-37-WI-2018 Wisconsin

October 5, 2018 to October 7, 2018
Adult Training / Central Region / Seabadge http://www.ThreeHarborsScouting.org/Seabadge

Registration at www.ThreeHarborsScouting.org/Seabadge
$175 per person
There is a $50 non-refundable deposit. Full payment is due by August 1, 2018.
$25 per person early arrival fee for those wishing to arrive Thursday evening.


Tammy Campbell
Course Director



Seabadge Central Region 2018 278.67 KB 110 downloads


Registration at www.ThreeHarborsScouting.org/Seabadge
$175 per person
There is a $50 non-refundable deposit. Full payment is due by August 1, 2018.
$25 per person early arrival fee for those wishing to arrive Thursday evening.


Tammy Campbell
Course Director



Seabadge Central Region 2018 278.67 KB 110 downloads

Please visit the Regional Calendar.

Central Region News

  • Central Region Poseidon Adventure
    Central Region Poseidon 2018
    May 27, 2018
    Come join us July 20-22 at the Mahomet Sportsmans' Club in Mahomet, Illinois (near Champaign) for the Central Region’s maiden voyage of the POSEIDON experience. This is an exclusive Central Region program and we would li...
  • Central Region Seabadge SB-37-WI-2018
    May 27, 2018
    The next Central Region Seabadge class will be held October 5-7 at the Indian Mound Scout Reservation in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin. Registration is now open! Seabadge is intense leadership and management training focused ...
  • Central Region names a new Regional Boatswain
    April 29, 2018
    William Campbell - Central Region Boatswain 2018-2018John Paprocki, Central Region Commodore, has announced that William Campbell, Ship 5111 and Anthony Wayne council of the Ft. Wayne IN area has been named as the Centra...
  • Congratulation to SSS Captain Awesome Ship 1015!
    April 29, 2018
    Ship 1015 (SSS Captain Awesome) of Prairielands Council (Champaign, IL) was selected to be part of the 2018 National Flagship Fleet! Here is part of the announcement send by National Council: Because of your submis...
  • Area 3 Sea Scout Rendezvous
    April 29, 2018
    We are 30 days out before the Area 3 Rendezvous. This is a Scouting event hosted by the Sea Scouts but available to all 14 and older boy or girl. For Venturing youth this is a tier 3 activity. We will have lots of boatin...
  • World Scout Jamboree 2019
    2019 World Scout Jamboree
    January 10, 2018
    Remember, Sea Scouts can attend the upcoming World Jamboree! The LAST day to register for the US World Scout Jamboree Contingent at the early bird rate is 1/31/18! Apply at wsj2019.us - it's a chance to meet Scouts from...
  • Snowstorm
    SNOWSTORM 2018
    January 6, 2018
    SNOWSTORM is a competition for Senior Girl Scouts, Mariners, Explorers, Ventures, Sea Scouts, and Boy Scouts ages 13-20. All participants must be registered members of BSA or GSUSA. This is a one-day indoor and outdoor e...
  • Winter Admidships 2018
    Winter Amidships (WAM) 2018
    January 5, 2018
    Bay-Lakes Council, Boy Scouts of America and the alumni of the Fond du Lac Scouts are proud to invite you to the 44th Winter Amidships (WAM)! This co-ed Scouting event will be held on February 24th, 2018, at the National...