Past National Flagships


2019 Confluence, Suffolk, Virginia 
2018 Unique, Palestine, Texas
2017 Dominion, Manassas, Virginia
2016 Viking, San Francisco, California
2015 Enterprise, Rockwall, Texas
2014 Dragonlady, Arlington, Virginia
2013 Makai, San Leandro, California
2012 Albatross, Martinez, California
2011 Tsunami, Portland, Oregon
2010 Minnow, Houston, Texas
2009 Renegade, Newport Beach, California
2008 Indomitable, Bay Village, Ohio
2007 Dragonlady, Arlington, Virginia
2006 Del Mar, Newport Beach, California
2005 Arcturus, Westover, West Virginia
2004 Jolly Roger, Houston, Texas
2003 Gryphon, Redwood City, California
2002 Invincible, Houston, Texas
1946 Polaris, St. Louis, Missouri
1945 Alamitos, Long Beach, California
1944 unknown
1943 Chadwick, Enid, Oklahoma
1942 Flying Dutchman, Chicago, Illinois
1941 Sea Lion, St. Louis, Missouri
1940 Marblehead, Salem, Massachusetts
1939 Davy Jones, Greensboro, North Carolina
1938 Sea Hawk, Berkeley, California
1937 Polaris, St. Louis, Missouri
1936 Columbia, Portland, Oregon Kansan, Topeka, Kansas named Honorary Flagship
1935 Tarpon, Great Neck, Long Island, New York
1934 Ranger, Portland, Oregon
1933 Kansan, Topeka, Kansas
1932 Frederick Harris, Springfield, Massachusetts
1931 Kansan, Topeka, Kansas
1930 Lief Ericson, Birmingham, Alabama
1929 Old Ironsides, Chicago, Illinois

BoatUS National Flagship

In honor of the 90th anniversary of Sea Scouts in 2002, BoatUS, the nation’s largest recreational boating organization, instituted the annual Sea Scout National Flagship Award.

The BoatUS National Flagship Application is available in October and is due March 31. The application follows the BSA Journey to Excellence Scorecard and is designed to recognize Sea Scout Ships excelling in all areas of Sea Scouting.

Some areas of focus include:

  • Special Celebrations and Activities
  • Sea Scout Advancement and Training
  • Sea Scout Recognition
  • On Water Activities
  • Sea Scout Activities
  • Color Guard Activities
  • Community Service
  • Recruiting Activities
  • Sea Scout Leader Professional Development

Sea Scout Ships with outstanding programs who are not selected to be the BoatUS National Flagship maybe selected as a member of the National Flagship Fleet so all ships are encouraged to apply for the National Flagship.

Any Ship meeting the criteria for National Flagship is recognized by ordering a special flag with 4 stars affixed. In addition, the Flagship is presented a trophy, as well as individual mementos of the achievement for each Sea Scout member of the Ship. Additionally the Ship name is added to a perpetual Sea Scout Flagship plaque to be kept on display at National Scouting Museum in Irving, Texas.

A ship must meet the minimal national standards in all areas for a calendar year starting January 1 and ending December 31. The application is due in the National Sea Scout Department by March 31, for consideration in being selected for the National Flagship Award.

NOTE: applications for 2020 National Flagship (based on the 2019 program  year) will be available shortly. The application process will change, but the criteria will be substantially similar. Expect new applications to be available by January 1, 2020 and until then, review the 2019 application below for how to prepare.